At about which WaniKani level does reading Manga / VNs in Japanese become something it's really possible to do?

As title, I know it depends on the manga / VN / anime / whatever in question but I was wondering at which Wanikani level it would start becoming sort of viable to read things written in Japanese beyond example sentences and things that are deliberately written to be easy to read for foreign learners (I’ve been doing a bit of grammar on the side and kind of get the basic stuff with that)

1 Like

well. “It depends”
By no mean i am an expert. My kanji isn’t that bad by i am beginner at grammer and just recently started studying vocabulary(again)
So i would say around 30 should be safe bet.
for me i guess?

You’ll see kanji that you don’t know for a long time so get used to looking it up. Aside from that it’s more of your grammar and familiarity with the language. A few levels ago I tried to read Yotsuba and my reading and processing speed was slow so I stopped. Yesterday I started again and can’t stop myself from finishing two volumes a day :smile:

5 Likes

Depends more on how much grammar you know, in my opinion. The stronger your grammar the easier it will be to read even if you’re still looking up words (which you’ll be doing even at level 60). I run into words all the time reading manga that aren’t on WK at all.

7 Likes

I started around level 10 I think. Could probably have joined a book club earlier though - like @athomasm says, the main thing is getting the grammar down.

1 Like

As others have mentioned, grammar’s going to be the main thing that limits what you can read. Second to that would be vocabulary. Third is kanji, but if the manga has furigana readings on the kanji, you don’t even need to know any kanji to read it.