Anyone uses the app Shirabe Jisho from Blazej Stanek on iPad or tablet?

I’ve been using this app since when I started studying JP and it’s just awesome, but on iPad the icons in the bottom right corner of the display that allow you to draw a kanji (see pic below) are completely hidden either by the virtual keyboard itself or by the small keyboard button that appears when attaching a magic keyboard. You can drag that button away but the icons don’t appear again because apparently the whole problem is triggered by the presence of any keyboard function.
Anyway, that’s a problem for me since when I started using material that doesn’t have furigana support, most of the time my only way of recognizing a kanji is by drawing it.

Already wrote the the support mail asking for a fix but no one answered.

Anyone knows how to fix this or can suggest a fast alternative to look up kanji from drawing it?
This app is comfortable because it allows you to quickly check every vocab or compounds that contains it, so in this way it’s not properly a kanji search function but simply a kanji drawing integration in a normal (and well) done dictionary app, and this is the reason why I would prefer to keep using it rather than changing jisho.

1 Like

I don’t have an answer - actually, while I have been using Shirabe Jisho for a long time on my iPhone, I have not been using its full power, rather I have only been using it for lookups by inputting romaji, and never thought of using it for drawing kanji to look up.

But now I will have to try that as well. (I also just noticed the selection for 部 which I guess lets you enter radicals or parts of kanji for doing a lookup, although I haven’t tried it yet).

But can you briefly explain how you are using a virtual keyboard or a ‘magic keyboard’ with the iPad and the Shirabe Jisho app? (I should probably know that, but I rarely use my iPad).

1 Like