Am I on the right track with my plan?

Okay so I have found what seems to be a great system for me. I plan on doing Wanikani/kaniwani for kanji and vocabulary, bunpro for grammer, and then japanesepod101 for listening and when I run or am driving. I am very new to Japanese and one day would like to go to japan and work there, plus read manga/anime. All I really know right now are both hiragana and katakana very well. Do you think this would be a good track for me and that I will have all of my learning bases covered, or is there a place you can recommend to help me make sure I am well rounded in my learning. I have 2-3 hours to devote to learning Japanese each day, so I believe I can do this. Any help or advise would be great, since this is the first language I have tried to learn alone :slight_smile:

7 Likes

That sounds like a good plan! I’d recommend giving that plan a go for a month or two, and then checking in with yourself to see how you feel. You might find it’s a bit much, you might find it’s not enough, or you might find that you don’t like one of those resources.

Once you have a better idea of what works for you (and what doesn’t), then you can fine tune your plan a bit more.

You might also find it helpful to set yourself some short and mid term goals to work towards so you can assess whether your plan is helping you make progress in the way you want.

6 Likes

alright, thanks! What do you think some achieveable goals might be for me right now, since I obviously won’t be able to read a newspaper anytime soon haha

It’s difficult to suggest goals without knowing what you are interested in, but here’s some ideas anyway:

• Being able to read some graded readers
  • Passing N5 of the JLPT
  • Having a simple conversation with someone in Japanese (maybe check out online language buddies]
  • Participating in the Japanese only section of the Wanikani forums on a [weekly/biweekly/etc.] basis