Almost done with lvl3!

Hello everyone!

So this is my first time posting here, though I’ve been reading the forum quite often!
I started learning Japanese about a month or so ago and I have to say I love WaniKani. I’ve also decided to buy the lifetime subscription.

However, since I bought Genki 1 and A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar (Still trying to find time to read them…sigh) , 300$ is kind of too much for me now, so I’m waiting for the new year’s discount! Hopefully after a couple of months, I’ll also buy Bunpro lifetime!

So my question is: Shall I wait for 10-15 days till the discount, mastering all the leftover Kanji I got, or should I buy the monthly subscription so I can move ahead and then buy lifetime?

Sorry if this is a silly question!
Thank you!

4 Likes

Hooray! :tada: and welcome to WaniKani :crabigator:

So, if you’ve decided to buy lifetime and you want the discount but can afford the monthly subscription now, there’s not a lot of point in twiddling your thumbs while you wait :slightly_smiling_face:

Any time left on your monthly subscription will result in a proportional discount when you buy lifetime. So you may as well buy a month now, because in (say) two weeks you can just buy lifetime and you’ll get an admittedly tiny discount for the two weeks you weren’t able to use.

Hope that makes sense D: and answers your question…

This will also mean you get a better idea of whether you really like it before you invest in such a big purchase ^^

8 Likes

Personally I didn’t subscribe until I had Guru’d all the kanji of level 3 so I had leveled up (it didn’t show though because no subscription). Then I subscribed (yearly for me) in November, knowing that if there was a sale around New Year I’d get a discount from what was still left of my subscription.