Advice Needed!

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting here. Seems like a really helpful community, so I wanted to look for some advice here as to how I can tailor my studies to learning better.

I have been using WK since May 2020 and am on pace to reach level 60 right around the 2 year mark. It has been really easy to be consistent with it and I find that it is really sticky for me. The problem I’m running into is that I feel too much of my energy is put into it and I don’t ever read outside of grammar study. I also do a little Duolingo every day.

For grammar, I went through Genki book 1 by myself and I am 8 chapters into book 2 that I’ve been doing along with classes. I try to review the chapters, but the grammar is less sticky for me. I think I tried reading some things when I was around level 15, and got discouraged at how difficult it was given my limited vocabulary and grammar. Now at level 48 and being nearly finished with Genki, I feel I should be able to read some things, but I almost don’t know where to start and don’t want to get discouraged again.

It feels like I’m in this cycle of doing and Duo and WK every day very diligently, amassing a massive vocabulary, and VERY slowly becoming able to use it. I rarely actually speak Japanese outside of grammar study. It also feels like I’m forgetting things that I’ve learned in both WK and Genki. WK almost feels like a crutch to make me feel like I’m doing something when in reality, my progress is slow. I’ve just continued this way because it’s what’s comfortable, but I’d like to take inventory and adjust.

So with that little bit of background of my language journey, here are my questions that I would love to hear some advice on:

1. Advice on goal setting in language acquisition.
  2. What are some ways to help solidify grammar concepts outside of just reading the textbook and practicing exercises?