A decent translating website?

Hi guys!
I’m a real beginner in here so excuse me if i make any errors
I wanted to try out the goldlist method to speed up my speaking knowledge and I was wondering what I should use to translate the phrase I want to learn.
Let’s say I want to learn how to say, “I am a stressed university student” in Japanese, what should I use to ensure that I get a fairly accurate translation?
Again I am barely 3-4 months into learning, and as of now im just sticking to basic vocabulary and grammar

DeepL is pretty good, but I wouldn’t rely too much on any translation tool

5 Likes

In the above thread, people were just discussing whether they think DeepL does well with Japanese.

However, the consensus with machine translation is that

this doesn’t really exist yet.

It can of course help, and people you’re communicating with are pretty likely to know what you’re saying nowadays. And for a language beginner, the other understanding what you mean is the only bar to clear, basically. But assume it can carry the wrong nuance, the wrong politeness level, or sometimes be utter gibberish.

Use it without trusting it. :+1:

4 Likes

Not so much translation per se, but if you want to get a feel for how something might be phrased in Japanese, try looking it up on weblio! It basically has a whole bunch of Japanese sentences from various sources with English translations, and you can search for words and phrases in Japanese or English to see how they tend to be used.

Quality of the sentences and translations may vary? So take it with a grain of salt, but I find it really helpful especially with things like nuance of synonyms to see patterns across a whole bunch of sentences. It’s probably not going to give you a one-to-one translation of something like “I am a stressed university student” since that’s fairly specific and also likely simple in structure, but it could be worth checking out depending on what you’re trying to say!

1 Like