4 months before trip to Japan!

I am a true beginner (just finished level 1 of WaniKani). I am going to Japan in 4 months. My goal is to be able to read basic things like signs, menus, etc. (and if I’m lucky, pronounce them properly too!). Should I just keep powering through 4 month’s worth of WaniKani? Any tips or tricks for this specific scenario would be much appreciated!

10 Likes

If you are a native English speaker, practice lots of katakana.

Also, the kanji that you learn in your first few levels will frequently be found in signs. Usually, there will be English right next to it, but it is still a joy to recognize directions and places in Japanese.

Good luck here!

5 Likes

Going for a holiday or a long trip (study or work)? Ploughing along with Wanikani is probably good in either case, but it would also be good to pick up some spoken or listening basics. ‘Aisatsu’ = standard greetings and phrases, are more common and useful than in English. You could try some free YouTube beginners or tourist Japanese,

1 Like

Nah you want to be grinding vocab and set phrases. I don’t know if there’s specific anki decks for travellers but wanikani definitely takes you on the scenic route, content wise, and at a pretty relaxed pace.

11 Likes

Most signs in the cities will have English, so you don’t need to read that much.

Most menus will have pictures or there will be an English menu.

Speaking and listening is much more important.
Definitely learn set phrases for stuff like ordering.

2 Likes

I am planning to go this April, one month there, I hope I can do it.

About the daily life, you can find even in rural areas all the info in English, from stations to restaurants, really helpful. I’m told they changed a lot since the world cup 2002, before that it was a nightmare.

In my experience there, the only place I didnt see anything in English, even for road signs, was in shimabara, even to show a distance in a board it was written 2キロ :sweat_smile:

1 Like