10分で読める物語 二年生 Stories 8 to 13

Welcome to the thread for stories 8 to 13 from the book 10分で読める物語 二年生!

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

10分で読める物語 二年生 Home thread

Previous thread (Story 7)

Reading schedule

Independent reading. In other words: no fixed schedule, read when it suits you :slight_smile:

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events on the current page and any content in future pages.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m planning to read later
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

1 Like

You created the thread just to read the book later? :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

By the time I had created the thread it was bedtime :joy:

1 Like
Story 9

The cheekiness of the wind makes me think of the Santa Ana Winds song from Crazy Ex-Girlfriend :grin:

1 Like
Story 10

The minister speaking to the king on p. 133 is doing my head in:

少しのもみと、宝石を、いただきとうございます。宝石とて、たねがなければめを出しません。もみは宝石をうえる前に、かみさまにおいのりしますさい、ささげものとしてつかいとうございます。

That 〜とうございます business, it that basically 〜たいです but with this thrown in?

め would appear to be 芽. And based on the rest of the story, もみ would appear to be 籾. But what さい do we have here?

1 Like

Not the foggiest idea. Perhaps some manner of archaic or keigo conjunction?

I am not sure, and it’s the first time I see it used after ます, but my best guess would be that it’s 際 (さい) that can be used formally to say “at the time of” or “when”, in this case “when praying to the gods”.

Similar examples:

https://takoboto.jp/bunpo/256

1 Like

I think that makes perfect sense, thanks!

'Story' 11 (haiku)