時 question

When using 時 (とき) for “when” and “before” how can you differentiate between the two? I understand the basic structure A時B, where A is in the plain form and determines before or after based on tense, but when can you differentiate between when and before?

Example:

勉強する時テレビを見ます。

In my limited knowledge, this could be translated as: “when I study, I watch TV” or “before I study, I watch TV.”

Am I in the wrong? I assume I must be. This one doesn’t seem like an easy one to tell with context.

This sentence couldn’t be “before I study, I watch TV” because there’s nothing to put it in the past. In this case, what comes before 時 specifies it’s range.

勉強する時 = During the time frame in which study happens, i.e. “when I study”

Verbs in non past tense usually default to future tense, though present tense as in “while studying” is possible depending on context.

勉強した時 = During the time frame in which I studied, i.e. “when I studied”

By putting する in past tense you’re marking that the time is referring to an already passed event. Note that this still doesn’t mean “before I studied”. You’d need to use 前 to get that meaning, as in 勉強する時の前テレビを見ます. (This might be an uncommon way to say this)

Edit: Jonapedia gives a more thorough explanation below and pointed out my example with 前 is uncommon use. Thank you.

7 Likes

Certainly not going to claim to be any sort of expert, but in my experience I don’t think I’ve seen 時 used in either of these cases. 時 for me comes up very infrequently, and is like referencing a specific point in time.

To say “Before A, B” you might use A 前に B or A うちに B depending on what you’re trying to convey.

To express the idea of concurrent or overlapping time frames (“while A, B”) in Japanese you’d use grammar constructs like A ながら B、A 間 B、A 間に B again depending on what specifically you’re conveying.