Zahi's Study Log

Hiyo! Longtime lurker/part time studier here, finally starting to really prioritize my Japanese study again. The pandemic and some other life circumstances have given me some space to figure out what’s most important for me to focus on now and in the future, and I know that Japanese is one of those things. My hope is that putting this goal to “paper”, and really fleshing it out will help me to establish a plan that I can be flexible with and stay accountable to. I view this entire post as a living document that will change and adapt over time according to my needs. More info below!

Japanese Background

I studied Japanese for two years in college, and then proceeded to not use it for the next 7 years. I landed a teaching job in Japan in my late 20s, and moved to Hiroshima City where I lived for four years. The first two years I studied pretty regularly, but found that I wasn’t using Japanese a ton. I spoke English in school every day and living in the city where there were a lot of tourists, English was everywhere. No matter how much I tried to use Japanese, more often than not it was too easy to default to English. My skills developed, but not beyond basic easy conversations and maybe around an N4 level. Listening skills were especially atrocious. About two years in, I stopped studying for reasons I still don’t fully understand - I just lost my motivation and I was getting by just fine with what I had and my support system. I’ve been back home in the U.S. for 2.5 years now and the whole time I’ve been back I’ve had this yearning for Japanese, but didn’t prioritize it.