Why some Japanese words do not match in Roman words? Is this because of based on the sound (ghost)?

Ohayogozaimasu! (Good morning!)

こんにちは but the roman words said “konnichi"WA”" instead (KonnichiHA)!? So it should be like: こんにち And another example is ときょう = Tokyo. It should be following like: ToUkyo? *Because there have “u” in japnese!) Get what I mean? T_T (I’m not trying to insult in Japanese language, but I just want to understand them so I can embrace them well)

To promptly introduce myself, I’m a deaf. Yes, I’m deaf, studying this language as well I’m studying Russia language. I can see the big different between both. AND the RSL (РЖЯ) & JSL (nihontego)
I am primary ASL user, and English is my strength area but not like English-native hearing speaker. (You might find some my errors English grammar. Suimasen!).
I am very heavily visual on exact words in order to understanding this mean. Not for Japanese (японский) and as well in Russian too. With Roman make easier on me, but not in all time of cases. Russia (русский) can be similar to remember easily, like “student” = стндент (gakusei). I will have to learn every new words for Russian and Japanese.

This is my summary of who I am. Arigatougozaimasu & Spansibo (спасибо)! (Thank you)

7 Likes

The “は” in こんにちは is the topic marker particle, which is always pronounced わ. There are more particles with irregular pronounciations. を is pronounced お, and へ (as a particle) is pronounced え.

As for とうきょう, in Japanese, if a う follows a syllable from the お-column (which is the case for と), it just elongates the vowel. Same goes い after え-column syllables, making せんせい sound like せんせえ.

Studying a language being deaf seems tough! がんばれ!

9 Likes