Where to study grammar after Genki?

I have been studying Japanese at university for a couple years, and finished both Genki books. Could anyone recommend an intermediate textbook for studying grammar? I am specifically looking for something that explains grammar points. I am already reading my way through all kinds of texts, but it is hard to look for grammar points if I do not know they exist.

1 Like

I really like Tobira. I’m almost finished with it right now, and I feel like it accelerated my abilities quite a bit. I also use the Shinkanzen Master N3 book for practice, but wouldn’t use it as a main book.

3 Likes

If you want something with detailed explanation of the grammar points I would recommend not using Tobira. I tried using it, but they put like 15 grammar points on three pages every chapter (or something like that). As you can probably imagine, 1/5 of a page is not really enough to properly explain a grammar point.

I would definitely recommend using https://bunpro.jp for grammar lookup. Their SRS and example sentences are questionable (some people love it, others hate it), but using their website to look up grammar points is incredibly convenient. If I see anything that feels grammar-ish and I can’t find it in a regular dictionary, I go there next. You’ll get better at identifying grammar points as you read more, so it’ll become easier to know what to look up as you progress.

8 Likes

Tobira’s explanations may be brief, but their example sentences are pretty clear and the workbook helps you get comfortable using the grammar. A native teacher is recommended, as with any textbook. The readings are challenging, but level-appropriate, and incorporate the grammar so you can get comfortable with it in context. No textbook is perfect, and Tobira has certainly annoyed me at times, but overall it’s been a great experience (I’m on the second to last chapter).

I agree Bunpro as a system is ちょっべ