When is it good to quit SRS?

Hi! I’ve been studying Japanese passively maybe since about 5 years ago (by consuming Japanese media, but mainly on listening) and actively since April 2018 (and finally reached level 60). My main goal is to be able to read manga and novels with ease. During my active period, I’ve been using SRS on and off, trying KaniWani, Anki and other stuff. Only WK remained from start until the end, but recently I found myself really frustrated with this repetitive stuff for stuff I already know, or stuff I don’t really need to know. Maybe it’s my laziness talking, but we tend to forget things we don’t ever never use. So I forgot most vocabulary introduced by WK which I never encountered while reading manga or light novels. However, I’ve been playing JP games and reading manga with ease (with occasional visit in the dictionary, but not so much that it dampens the entertainment). I do this almost everyday, so it’s not as if I’m losing touch with Japanese reading.

As for those who have quitted SRS, what was your indication it was good to quit? Or will it be better to continue with it nonetheless?

But really, maybe I just feel overwhelmed with all life stuff, and just depressed. Maybe a break from WK after almost 2 years is a good idea-

13 Likes

I quitted using SRS a year ago. That was 2 years into learning Japanese at a very intensive rythm. I think it was the right decision still, I felt it took time from my day that I could simply spend reading or in other more engaging activity, but more than that it started to turn into this negative experience in relation to learning the language… a chore basically, whereas other activities felt really pleasurable by then.