What's a normal level up time?

I’m using wkstats.com with my studies, and I’m starting to consistently get around 12.5 days from my last few levels. Is this normal? I feel kind of stupid looking at some people’s charts on here that are like 7 days a level or something.

10 Likes

There’s obviously going to be some selection bias in the charts that get shared. People tend to share charts to show very fast leveling, or very slow leveling. People who are average don’t have a particular reason to want to share them. I’m not sure any users can say definitively what the average actually is (except staff could probably figure it out).

30 Likes

Fair enough. That does actually make me feel better. I should probably mention I’m not using any mnemonics to learn. I’m just learning from seeing (don’t remember what the term for it is), so that will probably take longer as well.

3 Likes

Twoish months for me :turtle:

9 Likes

Behold and be impressed! =D

Just one kanji away from level 13, and it won’t come up again for two days… (I’ve already peeked at the level 13 radicals while waiting.)

Edit: I mostly don’t use the mnemonics, either. Unless I’m really struggling to remember a meaning or pronunciation. And then, half the time I make my own mnemonic.

15 Likes

Data point: I get about 10-14 days when I’m doing them pretty regularly, not excessively procrastinating, but also not rushing to do them As Fast As Possible. It’s going to depend on your accuracy though, too many failures at the wrong moment can push your level-up date.

4 Likes

It varies a lot. Some people take a month or longer. And what is a “good” pace varies by person so it’s best not to compare yourself to other people.
My level up chart varies from 5 days, 11 hours (level 43) to 26 days, 14 hours (level 29). I guess I feel most comfortable at about 8 to 9 days. If I take 14 days or longer, I just find WaniKani to be more stressful but for some people that’s what is comfortable for them.