What WK level should I aim for before...?

This is my first proper post here, so こんにちは、みんな! (Hopefully I got that right…)

I started learning Japanese “seriously” somewhat recently, even though I’ve wanted to learn it for a long time. My main motivation is to be able to consume Japanese media without needing a translation. In particular, I’m interested in manga, anime, music, and video games. That said, I’m curious what WaniKani level I should aim for before trying to read/watch/listen/play certain series in particular. I’m well aware that because of the way WK orders its kanji, I’ll probably need to look certain characters up even in the stuff made for kids, but I’m willing to do that occasionally. So here’s a list of Japanese media I’m interested in. If I could get your opinions on what level I should be at before being able to understand most of the kanji.

Manga:

• Shirokuma Cafe
  • Shokugeki no Soma
  • Pokemon
  • Black Butler
  • Unofficial Hatsune Mix
  • Doraemon
  • Death Note

Anime:

• Shirokuma Cafe
  • Shokugeki no Soma
  • Pokemon
  • Black Butler
  • Restaurant to Another World
  • Ancient Magus Bride
  • Sword Art Online (Don’t judge, please)
  • Death Note

Music:

• Mostly Vocaloid stuff. I know that’s a lot of ground to cover, so here are some examples:
  • Gigantic O.T.N.
  • Tricolore Airline
  • Remote Control
  • 12 Fanclub
  • Sand Planet
  • Ageage Again
  • News 39
  • Doremifa Rondo

Video Games:

• Pokemon
  • Persona 4/5
  • Project Diva
  • Rhythm Heaven
  • Fire Emblem
  • Touhou

Misc:

• NHK News Easy

I realize this is quite a long list, so feel free to respond to however many or few you feel like. Specificity is appreciated, but ballpark estimates are welcome.

ありがとうございます!

Note: If you’re just starting Japanese and have something specific you want to read/watch/whatever, please ask below. Maybe we can get a dialogue going and start a list of recommended WK levels for popular Japanese media!

4 Likes