What should I be doing besides WaniKani as a begginer?

I am very new to Japanese, know the hiragana and katakana syllabaries by heart but I am not sure what to do now exactly. I am looking into Genki 1 but I don’t really know. I have a bit of free time so wanikani isn’t taking up enough time to satisfy my desire to learn right now. Thanks for any help and sorry for any mistakes, English isn’t my first language (I speak very well just not writing as much).

8 Likes

Try to start doing KaniWani

1 Like

Welcome!

Sign up for kaniwani. It is free, and gives the reverse questions of wanikani. Created by someone here too.

Sign up for bunpro (grammar). Also made by a user here. I think there is still a free option.

Listen to stuff in Japanese. NHK has hourly news broadcasts. Also daily newsweb easy articles.

TBS plays short news clips around the clock. Most of them are subtitled in Japanese.
(https://news.tbs.co.jp/3snewsi/index.htm)

Read the guide. Read the stories of other people who have succeeded here.
This is the a great one:

Other people will post many other ideas!
Also, read tofugu articles …

1 Like

If you’re learning outside of a classroom, I wouldn’t recommend Genki.

My favorite resources for total beginners are HumanJapanese, JapanesePod101 and DuoLingo

You can also watch Japanese Drama on https://www.viki.com . I wouldn’t start with anime since the way they talk there isn’t very natural.

Hello,

Welcome to the study of Japanese! There are a lot of things you could try doing to get some of the basics of Japanese down.

Genki I is a good option. However, if you are not a native English speaker, you might try looking at Minna no Nihongo. It’s a bit more challenging at first, since it’s entirely in Japanese! But the good news is that the guides are available in multiple languages, not just English.