What is the best textbook?

i have looked around the forums and couldn’t find any satisfactory so please can you give me recommendations? this is for self-study

That is more of a personal opinoon, but here is a list of reviews from Tofugu(the WaniKani creators)

4 Likes

The most popular ones would be the Genki series or Minna no hihongo みんなのにほんご

2 Likes

The most popular choice is Genki for beginners. Apparently, Tobira is a good textbook for intermediary learners, but I have no personal experience with it.

1 Like

Assuming this is for you to use, it would probably be good to specify things like your general Japanese level (WK is a poor representation of this), study methods (eg. classroom, tutoring, self-study, orthodox, immersive + lookups, ect…), things you’re interested in (eg. pitch accent, reading passages, partner exercises)…

I’ve seen a lot of good textbook discussions (this Bunpro thread had a lot of interesting discussions on this subject as well) on the WK forums, but you won’t get a really good answer without some specificity.

3 Likes

It’s hard to give an answer. Minna no Nihongo grammar translation offers good explanation of grammar points along various examples. It also has vocabulary. If you study by yourself, be careful to buy this one and not the “normal” edition.
I am also very happy Somatome that I use with a teacher. If you study by yourself, forget about this one though. It has some examples and a quick “how to use” but no explanation about the context or the meaning. With a teacher it works be alone it’s hard. However, I think it makes a very good grammar memo. I can review grammar very quickly.
For reading I looooooove ShinKanzen Master. I think the texts aren’t too easy but also very accurate for the level. For N3 I felt that it was just above my level. I don’t know for grammar, I need to try.