What does your typical study session look like? How has it evolved?

Hey guys,

Hope everyone’s good!

Sorry if this is a bit similar to something that’s been asked before, but I was curious about what different people’s study sessions are like on a daily basis. I’ve been learning Japanese for 3 months now and started with just an hour on WaniKani every morning. Now I’ve got the hang of the Review system I’ll hop on a few times a day to complete them on time and then sit down and have an hour or so of going through lessons, but ultimately that’s still a WK-only study session.

So I was wondering, when you guys start to integrate other resources into your study (i.e. starting to learn grammar with Genki), how did you structure it into your sessions? A friend of mine has a ‘little bit of everything each day’ approach and I know some would have maybe a day for grammar, a day for vocab etc. I suppose it depends on your goals and daily commitments but I was curious about what a typical study session is like for each of you right now at whatever level you are :slight_smile:

Thanks!

5 Likes

wel, ideally I do WK when I can (which is quite often).
And usually I would do Genki in the afternoon. Ofcourse due to a certain pandemic, my kids have a 3 week easter break, which has made me open Genki I for like 1 day as of yet.

2 Likes

Mine has definitely changed- I’ve been learning on and off over the past 4 years. Plenty of resets after being away from WK (usually during very busy/stressful periods at work).

I’ve got a new job where that isn’t an issue anymore. But I still don’t have more than an hour and change a day for japanese. When I was in the teens on WK, I split my time between that and a bit of grammar. Now that I’m in the 20’s on WK, I really need to spend some time reading. I used to whip through a level of WK in 8-10 days max. Now, I do ~50-60 reviews a day, 12 lessons a day and don’t sweat the rest.