WaniKani without immersion

Hey everyone, haven’t posted on here before so hi!

As for my question, I am currently studying Spanish, but the itch to learn Japanese has always been there. Does anyone have any experience with only using WaniKani for a few months, and then going on to expand their studies after? I’d like to finish my Spanish studies which is going to take about 6 months, is it a smart idea to do WaniKani in the meanwhile? My worry is that the time spent on WaniKani might not be worth it if not immediately combined with immersion. However, if someone else has found success with it in this way, the time spent on WaniKani isn’t an issue.

tldr: Is it a good idea to do WaniKani without immersion while studying a different language, and starting full Japanese studies after finishing up the other language?

Thanks! And happy learning!

4 Likes

If we’re talking efficiency? Probably best to focus on one first and then switch to the other.
But life isn’t always about efficiency, and starting WaniKani early surely isn’t going to do you any harm. If you’re feeling the itch to get started, might as well.

4 Likes

As long as you are creating mnemonics, the time is well spent. There’s no immediate need to immerse or study grammar when starting to learn kanji/vocab, although they are inarguably beneficial.

There is, however, a concern about studying 2 languages at a time. I know that Spanish is a VERY simple language, and given its common Latin roots you already gain several thousand vocabulary right from day 1, but there will still be conflicts with energy, time and motivation, potential for burnout, and opportunities to mix things up (believe it or not, there are similar sounding words in Spanish and Japanese). Even givin how simple Spanish really is to learn for other Latin alphabet-using natives, tackling Spanish and any part of Japanese at the same time is a tall order.