Immersion, where does one begin?

Hello there!

I am new to the whole WaniKani thing, and still thinking about what path I’m planning on taking for learning Japanese. Something I’ve been heavily interested in as a whole, and I’m sure has been discussed on here a fair amount (I’ve read a lot of threads hehe) is immersion. I plan on using Wanikani for some vocabulary and kanji learning, but I also have some questions that I would maybe like to ask others for clarification.

1. Would it be advised (Ik learning is subjective) for me to first begin doing WaniKani and pairing it with some Japanese grammar on the side before even attempting immersion? (ie Tae Kim, CureDolly, etc.)
    1.5) If so, what would you say is a decent footing in basic Japanese before beginning immersion, (Amount of vocabulary or grammar known)
  2. Should I be using another SRS system, such as Anki, alongside Wanikani when I begin to immerse, or would that be considered too much SRS and a waste of time? (Subjective yet again)
  3. About how much time should I be allocating to immersion per day, specifically active immersion? Passive immersion I have no problem with since I do a lot of drawing and don’t mind listening to stuff in the background, but I find I have less time for really sitting down for longer than 2-3 hours a day for things such as anime watching. (Another side note, I hope to be fluent[ish] in Japanese in perhaps 4-6 years, although getting there quicker would always be nice ;))
  4. Do you have any additional tips for a SUPER SUPER beginner in immersion? (I am familiar with how to read the kanas, and that’s about it so far.)

Thank you ^^

2 Likes