Wanikani useless to anyone wanting to learn just vocab

They have the format down and everything, and it’s lovely, but its absolutely completely useless in any other scenario than ‘havent ever seen a kanji before’.
Just add a permanent choice to begin with, ‘Beginner mode’ or ‘supplementary mode’, so that a beginners’ inability to handle the responsibility of customization doesn’t remove all the potential of the platform

If someone has picked up Heisigs’ or Kanjidamage before coming here, make it possible to rewrite the radical meanings to what they have learned before, it shouldn’t be difficult to do. Make it possible to skip a kanji entirely.

Now go around advertising that wanikani is a great supplementary platform for learning a lot of vocabulary, too, and rake in some more money, because no one but a total beginner should want to deal with wanikani’s control-freak-esque approach to proper learning

Rewriting radical meanings would not work. All the mnemonics on the subsequent Kanji and Vocab would break.

Hi there! It is already possible to rewrite radical meanings. For each radical, there is a page, where you can add a “user synonym”.

Just looking at the number 1, underneath your avatar, I can see that you have only experienced the first level of the system and you are not a paid subscriber. I am not sure if unpaid users can add “user synonyms” and “name notes”.

As a paid subscriber, I can assure you this is already implemented.

I have been using Wanikani since September 2016. I already knew about 100 kanji when I started. The first seven or so levels covered kanji I already knew. Beyond that, it has become increasingly challenging and at times, the new information has been overwhelming.

It’s useless for anyone wanting to do… anything other than learn how to read kanji. I’m outraged!

I want to learn how to play shougi and it’s not telling me. Does it unlock at level 61 or something.