Waiting for Genki II 3rd edition

Hi, everybody!

In addition to being a satisfied WaniKani user, I have recently started to study grammar with the help of Genki I and his workbook.
I’m really enjoying the book and since the third edition is on the market I wanted to buy that one (I would say, obviously).

The problem is that, Genki II is not on the market yet and it will be out not before September from what I know… considering the waiting time and many other things, probably for October I will receive the book.
Since I’m studying voraciously with Genki I, I’m afraid to complete the book before October and as far as I know, I can’t do much just with the knowledge of It!

What do you suggest me to do? Switch to the second edition for Genki II?
To me it seems relatively stupid considering the continuity that the texts have.
Is there any book I can study with, while waiting for Genki II?

Do you think it is possible to read and translate at least children’s books with Genki I and a level 10 in WaniKani?
By reading I mean: Sitting at my desk with the dictionary and the book, not understand at a first glance.

Thank you very much!

The general advice is to just go for genki 2. The updated version will only have very minor changes. Not enough to have a partucularly negative impact.

And you can look up grammar points, so she you could (roughly) translate a children’s book with just genki 1 and looking up grammar and words, just like you could with no Japanese knowledge. It would be thoroughly unpleasant though. Generally reading only becomes somewhat pleasent at an N3ish vocab and grammar level. Children’s books still have a lot of grammar and vocab, just not Kanji

So you’re telling me that after I completed Genki I is like I’ve no grammar knowledge at all? :cold_sweat:

Till lesson 6 I learned lots of grammar… present, past, possessions, “te” form, adjectives, and so on…

To read a book made for childrens I need N3 grammar?