Verbs for が particle

I like to know, Most(All) common verbs used along with が particle.

Well… all of them.

が marks the subject - the doer of the verb. Often the topic of the sentence, marked by は, is also the subject of the verb, in which case the は replaces the が, but it’s still there, just invisible.

10 Likes

Yeah, I don’t think the wanikani forum can handle that much in one post, we are talking thousand and thousand of verbs here :slightly_smiling_face:

Edit: Looking up #verb on jisho returns 25416 items :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Let’s put it this way, what verbs can specifically not be used with a が particle

4 Likes

How could such a verb exist? You can always phrase something in some way to use が.

3 Likes

I have no knowledge of such a verb, but maybe OP knows something I don’t

2 Likes

We’ll need more information from the OP to know why he asked the question.

2 Likes

Maybe they learned certain grammar structure with が, like「~ことができる」or something, and they think that’s like a special verb to use in that context?

Actually, as a beginner to particles, I am unable to think anything else with が particle except …がすきです。

Well, name a verb and you can make a sentence using が, because が marks the subject of a verb.

人がいる There is a person
石がある There is a stone
日が出る The sun rises
女の子が走る A girl runs
車が止まる A car stops

Of course, you can make sentences that use those verbs without using が, but you can always use が if you want or need to.

10 Likes

すき in this case is actually an adjective (好き), not a verb. You can kind of translate it as “liked” or “likeable”.

リンゴが好きです means “I like apples”, but literally translated describes that apples have the aspect of being liked.
In an English context it is regarded as a verb, but in Japanese, it is an adjective.

It is however indeed true that when used like this 好き (almost?) always has が in front of it, and not は. Maybe that’s what you’re thinking about?

5 Likes