Thoughts on HelloTalk (Active User of 2+ Years)

Hi!

I’ve been using HelloTalk for 2+ years as part of my daily Japanese studies. I know it’s been mentioned before, but it looks like the topics have been archived/locked.

For those unfamiliar, it’s basically a social media app for language learning. You post in your target language and get corrected by native speakers (as well as others). Additionally, you can help people learning your native language. It is super judgment free, no matter your level of knowledge.

Personally, I love the app. It really helps me with my output, and I’ve been able to make a lot of friends there. Having my Japanese corrected by native speakers is great, and when I’m not mega-shy and use the audio features, I get lots of help with my pronunciation (pitch accent, etc).

However, there are a couple of downsides to the app, but pointing them out helps mitigate them.

While your Japanese may be corrected by native speakers, you may not always get an explanation as to why the correction was made.

• This one’s always a bit tricky. Sometimes the correction is obvious (ex: a misspelling, a confused grammar point, etc), but sometimes the correction is less obvious. Sometimes, your sentence is just wrong, but other times, it could be that your sentence is technically correct, but unnatural Japanese. Or it could actually be correct, but the corrector prefers saying/writing it a different way (an example in English would be something like… “I bought this book yesterday.” vs “I purchased this book yesterday.”)