That's a Japanese Word?

I always thought emoji was an English word that was an abbreviated version of emoticon. The beauty of jukogo.

Do people have other words that they thought were originally in English or another language but happened to be in Japanese?

Tycoon (大君). That one was a surprise …

You’ve seen this already at your level, but I hadn’t known skosh was from すこし, 少し.

There are a bazillion synonyms for small and large, I had just assumed it had archaic origins related to pirates, farm animals, blacksmithing, or some such.

This is going to sound silly… Wait, it IS silly! Anyway, when I was a kid, I thought Sayonara was a Spanish word. There were so many movies and T.V shows where characters would say good bye in different languages, and I’d always hear Sayonara after words like adios and hasta la vista, so I thought they were all the same language. I didn’t know it was a Japanese word until I started studying Japanese :flushed:

Here’s a list for wikipedia of English words of Japanese origin. Many are obvious, most I didn’t even know were used in English perhaps due to the technical nature of the words.

lol, well you’re not the only one. I thought that too until just a couple years ago.

I love the way you talk.

Most of these are just name of dishes or things that don’t have an English equivalent though, can they really be counted as “English” words then? They’re just romaji of the Japanese words.

Actually emoji and emoticon while related concepts are not the same thing…

And emoji were used in Japan long before (at the end of the nineties) the word appeared in English.

Bukkake.
Yep.
Always thought of as an English fella.

I’m not the only one!!! Hallejuah! Everyone who has heard my story has always laughed at me…

If you can use them in English and people know what you mean… then they’re English words.

台風 blew my mind when I first learned it. And then it disappointed me because I thought it would be spelled 大風.