That moment when you realize the value of WaniKani

I’ve been using WaniKani alongside JapanesePod101 (because my listening comprehension is abysmal). Just five minutes ago, I was listening to an Absolute Beginner early lesson, which happened to, as banter, bring up the phrase "引き分け”. Just two weeks ago, I was introduced to this phrase via WaniKani. My mind exploded. The fact that I knew this phrase because of WaniKani–knew the pronunciation–knew the kanji–and knew the meaning already blew my mind. And the fact that right off the bat, my ears recognized the phrase.

I’m a new subscriber to WaniKani, but this moment couldn’t have solidified my happiness with this website anymore than it had. Sorry, I’m feeling sentimental and wanted to share.

I don’t get much time to study, because of work and the holidays. But moments like this are extremely precious to me and revitalize my ambition to continue studying Japanese.

27 Likes

It’s a pretty great feeling, isn’t it?

Even at level 14, I’m regularly coming across things I couldn’t dream of being able to read just a few months ago. It gives me so much excitement to imagine where I’ll be a few months from now!

9 Likes

Whats 引け分け?

Do you mean 引き分け?

HAH! Yes, that’s totally what I meant. :smiley:

I will admit I was typing with my keyboard about a foot away from me.

LOL, ok that makes sense. I was really confused for a few seconds there.

Yeah, people give WK a hard time for not teaching “useful” vocab, whatever that means. The truth is that despite not claiming to be for learning vocab, your comprehension will increase pretty dramatically if you start as a beginner. Even in the VN I am currently playing, the words I commonly look up are found on only ~level 35. While you will have to learn most of your vocab outside of WK/go more in depth on the nuance of words, it still enables you to read quite a bit.

4 Likes