Testing out

It’d be cool if Wanikani let you test out of things you already know.

Short answer: because it’s designed for beginners. Try teaching a complete beginner quickly; doesn’t work.

Reviews are available by clicking the “review” part, which should have a number in it if there are reviews available.

– Is this the first thread complaining about the slow start since the new forums?

We were doing so well.

Also: If the issue is what I think it is, you need to refresh the page to get the links working. The timer changes, but the links don’t populate until you tell the site you’re ready for it. (Otherwise, you won’t have new lessons until you guru (practice enough times) the relevant radicals and kanji–you don’t get the whole level all at once).

Sometimes I wish Koichi and the team would ban the sentence “why is Wanikani so slow?”… better yet, just ban the word “slow” XD

It’s not an unreasonable question. I get its use for beginners; I just think they ought to consider having a “test-out” section.

That’s what the first three levels are for…

And it kinda is, because there’s a search function, each to their own though.

Totally agree with you. Lol :joy:

It has an unreasonable amount of times this question has been posted though, Its in the FAQ too. The only thing that’s missing is a PSA in big bold letters and a bright noticeable banner, to make sure it’s the first thing you see when asking a question like that. It picks up the pace, really fast if you already know the kanji, after a bit you’ll get a hundred or two reviews here and there. It’s not for everyone.

One of the first things you’re directed to read addresses this exact thing, why they’re not going to change it, and also advises you not to ask about it. A quick forum search would have shown you the many, many, many times this conversation has happened before. It kinda is.