Taking time to celebrate with a LEVEL 60 post (and yes, cake)!

Ok, let’s do this properly. Generic thread title with at least one exclamation mark: check.

Then: cake. Vanilla teacake, buttercream icing, crabigator gods appeased.

Check.

Phew, now we can get to the rest of this post.

I figured nobody is as interested in me hitting level 60 as I am, so I’ve interviewed myself for your reading convenience.

Congratulations on hitting level 60, spelchek!

Thanks, spelchek. It’s a pleasure.

Tell us about yourself?

Well, I’m a late thirties professional working in Melbourne, Australia. I head up a team of 7 amazing people, and for the last 2.5 years we’ve been busily working on…

No, no, that’s boring, skip to the Japanese bits?

Oh, ok. I studied Japanese in high school many years ago and it was fun but we learned zero kanji. I’ve been to Japan as a tourist a couple of times and with work a couple of times, and know the absolute basic tourist Japanese like ‘excuse me where is the bathroom’? and ‘I am so sorry but I have forgotten which is my umbrella, is this one yours?’.

When we went to Shirakawa-go (amazing) in 2018 my linguistic competence hit new heights of being able to tell people there was a snake over there and ask if it was a dangerous one. In short, I am a beginner in Japanese.

So why WaniKani?

Well, we had a great holiday to Japan planned in April 2020, we were going to spend time on Yakushima Island and search around on the mainland for green pheasants. I’d been getting super excited about it and then there was kind of a global pandemic, you might have heard of it.

And then for the rest of 2020 I ended up doing two full time jobs simultaneously as I got swept into my organisation’s covid response planning as well as my usual role…

Focus, focus! This is the internet, remember! We’re not talking about work here.