Tactical skipping/marking some things as "correct"

Not really “skipping”, as it is impossible, but after I started using WK, I realised 2 things for myself:

1. Radicals aren’t that useful as part of the SRS;
  2. Kanji are memorised better through vocab, it is easier to remember both on and kun yomis this way when they are used in real words.

So it leads me to the thing that I always mark radicals and kanji as “correct” using a script.

Does anyone of higher level use it as well? I feel it made my user experience much, much better since there is no unnecessary drag and no frustration over forgetting some silly radical name.

On a side note, I also skip things like number + day or number + anything, really - it is frustrating and and isn’t worth the effort, and judging by my experience with other languages I studied (English, French and German) such basic but annoying things are picked up more naturally when you start using the language more actively, and it isn’t necessary to bother with it too much.

1 Like

Sounds like you just want to skip everything, and then declare yourself fluent.
Its one thing to not like radicals. But kanji? “I’ll just skip right to the vocab… and also skip ‘silly’ vocab as well” Congrats, you’ll on your way to nothing.
What’s next “I don’t need to study grammar, its pointless, I’ll just pick it up naturally through using (watching Naruto) the language”

17 Likes

Japanese counting is different than other languages and actually definitely worth the effort to think about.

19 Likes

Why bother with WK at all then?

6 Likes

I like the vocab SRS.

Could you elaborate please? Do you mean the counting after hundred?

There are different counter words to use for people, sheets, machines, animals, etc.

3 Likes

There are much more complete vocab sources (and free ones too I might add), that you could use. It’s not as if WK is known for the best collection of vocab out there.

1 Like

I know.