I just became a subscriber ! But I just saw a video that threw me a bit off

Hello guys, this is my first post and I also just became a subscriber to begin my Kanji learning journey.

I came to Wanikani because a friend of mine recommended it to me and told me what a nice and helpful community it has.

I’m fairly new to the Kanji learning community, I just finished Genki 2 so I decided to begin Learning Kanji seriously now.

Anyways as I was browsing the net about Kanji I came up to this video that I found very well explained, It seems also that it was just released. I wonder what are you guys thoughts on it.

Nice to meet you guys, let’s have fun learning kanji together !

9 Likes

giphy%20(25)

Hi there! As with any resource, YMMV. I just hope that WaniKani works for you as well as it does for us.:sparkles:

9 Likes

Thank you gojarappe I will do as you suggest. I’ve tried the first 2 levels of Wanikani, I like the fact that Is just convenient for me, I can access it through my phone and also like that it feels more complete cause it teaches you a lot.

However that video mentions a concept called “memory interference” or something like that, that says that maybe learning too much is counter productive ? Meh I don’t know for me I will just try and learn in a fun way.

Thanks for the reply.

1 Like

Discussion of WK in the video starts at 27:23, if anyone else is interested

27 Likes

I feel like the older, more experienced users can better answer your question and I can see them typing away.

What I can tell you from my own experience is that I have never used anything else that has made me remember so much in so little time. I’ve been living in Japan for a few years now and ever since I started WaniKani, I can finally start to decipher all the kanji around me.

Now, let’s sit back and wait for the replies to come in.

18 Likes