Studying Japanese and Chinese together

Hi!

I was wondering if anyone here has any experience on learning Japanese and Chinese together at university.

I’m currently studying an Access to Higher Education course so I can go to university, but I need to apply soon and I can’t decide if it’s a stupid idea to study both Japanese and Chinese together.

The course would start in September 2018 with both languages being taught at beginner level and that point I would’ve been learning Japanese for a year and a half. I feel like it wouldn’t be impossible especially if I have a good grounding in Japanese, but I’d be really grateful for advice!

I’ve also been looking at studying Japanese on its own or with Korean which is another language I’m really interested in, but I think Chinese would pay off better in the long run.

Extra info: the course is 5 years with 2 years abroad (one year in China, the other in Japan) and I’d get a BA out of it.

I’m really interested to hear if you’ve studied both together (at uni or self-study) or if you studied one at university and if you felt you were better off with just one or if you felt like you could’ve coped with both and also any general advice is great too!

ありがとうございます!

1 Like

Hey there - I’m not a polyglot myself, but I do have experience with many people that learned several languages in college.

Generally speaking, this comes down to your future goals. For most people, learning multiple languages is not advantageous beyond expanding your world view and to impress friends. There’s a slim chance that a future career would require both languages, and once you’ve left university it will be very difficult to maintain both languages without the rigor of an academic program.

If you have a good reason to learn both, then go for it! Otherwise, I think the best plan is to focus on the one you think you’ll use the most in the future :slight_smile:

What inspired you to learn these two (possibly three?) languages?

1 Like