Struggling to memorise Japanese vocabulary

Hi!

So aside from being on WK, I take Japanese at university which I started last year as a complete beginner.

I recently started my second year, but this entire time I’ve been really struggling with memorising vocabulary. We’re following the Minna no Nihongo textbook and we’re currently at lesson 22. In a few weeks we have a grammar and vocabulary exam worth 10% of the mark for the year, and I’m really stressing out!

I use the app Quizlet for vocabulary and I like it because you can learn vocabulary in various ways - flashcards, writing, games etc., but I feel like nothing really sinks in and I forget it all unless I’m working at it constantly. I’ve had depression for the last 10 years and I seriously think this has had a negative effect on my short term memory which is why I find it so hard to learn anything

If anyone has any tips on how to start to overcome this, I would really appreciate it! I passed Japanese last year with an ok percentage because I fell really behind with sickness but I only passed my final exams because I was having hourly online lessons everyday for a week or so before my exams, so I want to stay caught-up this year, but not being able to retain vocabulary is really setting me back

4 Likes

Everyone is different but my suggestion is for you to try reading texts instead of trying to memorize words in isolation. When I have a chance, I try to read the articles on https://www3.nhk.or.jp/news/easy/ using Jisho ( jisho.org) and Google translate as help.

3 Likes

I’m not familiar with Quizlet, but maybe it isn’t the best tool to use :sweat_smile:

Also, reading native content. Nothing better than that to remember words that you learned in the long-term. Anything that attracts you? Any mangas, book clubs, news, etc.

2 Likes