Struggling level 9 and feeling the beginning of a burn out

Hello everyone!
Two month ago i took the new year resolution to finally learn japanese, something i’ve been wanting to do for years now. Now I know learning a language is a real challenge, especially with a job, on your own and using ressources that are not in your native language (i’m not a native english speaker and very few good ressources are in my native language). But if others managed to do it, so will I.
I’ve been doing wanikani for over two months now, advancing quite effectively through the first levels.
I figured after two month of piling up words and kanjis, and now that I was fairly confortable with both hiraganas and katakanas, it was time for me to start learning grammar. So i started a few weeks ago to study through both genki and Japanese the manga way.
But now i feel like i’ve hit a wall. My reviews’ accuracy dropped really hard lately, especially since the beginning of level 9.
Usually i’d struggle with the kanji a bit on the first reviews, and then pick up and nail them all the way to the next level, and repeat. But with level 9, after a week, i still feel very weak on the kanjis. And it’s making me very anxious cause some on the older kanji i’ve not performed really well on they reviews lately either, so if those kanji i was confident when i passed them guru the first time are not really well fixed in my memory, I don’t know how it will be for those i’m not confident on.
I feel like i’ve been using wanikani the best i could so far, always doing reviews as they come, 4 to 5 times a day, sometimes more.
Anyway, i was looking for people who might’ve had similar experiences and how they dealt with it.
Thanks for reading me :slight_smile:

15 Likes

I hit a wall around level 7-9 as well. If you start to feel overwhelmed by reviews stop doing lessons for a while. Just focus on reviews until they are manageable. Then throttle your lessons to make sure you don’t get overwhelmed again.

14 Likes