Spaced Repetition Flashcards System

Hi Everyone!

(Link to image here or below)
Flashcards

I’m new to learning Japanese. I’m on level 4 of WaniKani, and today I finished creating level 4 vocab flashcards. I wanted to share my flashcard system. Some Tofugu articles on spaced repetition and interleaving(links below) have been incredibly enlightening to me and have drastically improved my learning strategies. At this point, I try to add 20+ new radicals, kanji, vocab, grammar or sentences to my flashcard collection daily. I use colored stickers to indicate what kind of card it is. The front of the flashcard are the Japanese symbols, and on the backside are the hiragana spellings and definitions. My small board holds all the cards that are new to my learning. I introduce 5 cards at a time, starting at the top left corner and moving right as I review. The large board holds all the cards I have learned. Each time I introduce 5 new cards, I’ll review a large stack of review cards. Right now the review is about 25 cards and on average, I’ll get stuck on about one of them, sometimes more and sometimes none(YESSS!!). If I make a mistake, the flashcard gets shuffled into the small board for further review. I mark each reviewed card from the large board with a pencil stroke. My review cards range up to 5 strokes, at which point I may hold onto it for further review or place in my burn pile(a coffee can not in the picture).

What methods do you all use for learning and memorization? Does my method seem effective to you, or are there improvements that come to mind? I love the way it is set up, but I know that eventually I’ll have to create another, even larger board to hold more cards.

Radical - Green
Kanji - Pink
Vocab -Yellow
Sentence - Red
Grammar - Blue

Image:

Flashcards

Tofugu links:

Spaced Repetition

Interleaving

1 Like