Should I start worrying about kana only vocabulary now?

Hello!

As you might infer from my WK level, I am quite new to japanese studies. Currently I divide my time between kanji (here) and grammar (Genki, BunPro and the occasional video), as well as trying to read a little bit when I can, which is one of the reasons I started thinking about kana.
I know eventually I should start reading up on kana only vocabulary, since I’m pretty much doing nothing about it, and already set up some decks on kitsun for that purpose, but I started getting a little bit overwhelmed with the amount of stuff I had to memorize, so I pushed it back a bit.

In your opinion, should I just push through and add it to my routine already? How soon have you started studying kana only vocab (or when do you plan to)?

Thank you for your time.

1 Like

It’s pain in the bootarino, I know, but when I joined Absolute Beginner Book club, those words had me. So… How about just studying like 2 new words a day? Better than nothing:). I am now trying to come up with mnemonics for kana words too.

1 Like

Personally, I wouldn’t worry about it for now. Hopefully you’ll learn some common kana only words from Genki, but other than that I’d recommend against doing too much at once. Last thing you want is to get overwhelmed. Whenever you decide to start reading, if unknown kana words turns out to be what’s holding you back the most, that would be the time to start studying it specifically. But frankly, with how easy it is to look up kana only words in a dictionary, it probably won’t be the thing holding you back the most.

10 Likes

Thanks for the tip. I guess I’m a little lost on exactly how important it is, from a “you need to dedicate time to this” perspective. It’s something that is often picked up organically through reading and looking up words after you know the basics?