Scaling the review mountain part 5 - the light at the end of the tunnel

Did much better than usual today.

Sat Mar 04 2023:
Time spent: 15m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 610
Reviews in next week: 884 (+274)
Reviews in next month: 1342 (+458)
Accuracy: 83.00% (83/100)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 290
Guru: 383
Master: 334
Enlightened: 926
Burned: 5584

9 Likes

Hey! Where are you seeing these stats?

Also, grats on this run. The dedication you’re showing is far more impressive than the initial speed of the climb

5 Likes

It’s a custom script I wrote. You can find it at Daily summary

3 Likes

Mon Mar 06 2023:
Time spent: 7m
Reviews completed: 42
Reviews remaining: 617
Reviews in next week: 879 (+262)
Reviews in next month: 1324 (+445)
Accuracy: 76.19% (32/42)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 285
Guru: 371
Master: 341
Enlightened: 921
Burned: 5599

8 Likes

Tue Mar 07 2023:
Time spent: 8m
Reviews completed: 50
Reviews remaining: 611
Reviews in next week: 900 (+289)
Reviews in next month: 1315 (+415)
Accuracy: 74.00% (37/50)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 288
Guru: 365
Master: 344
Enlightened: 911
Burned: 5609

7 Likes

At this rate, I’m beginning to think I might hit 5700 burns before I hit level 49.

Wed Mar 08 2023:
Time spent: 15m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 573
Reviews in next week: 884 (+311)
Reviews in next month: 1314 (+430)
Accuracy: 72.00% (72/100)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 279
Guru: 373
Master: 348
Enlightened: 901
Burned: 5616

7 Likes

Great Job :slight_smile: . You can do it :wink: .

2 Likes

Four more kanji to go.

Thu Mar 09 2023:
Time spent: 14m L1
Reviews completed: 78
Reviews remaining: 560
Reviews in next week: 886 (+326)
Reviews in next month: 1307 (+421)
Accuracy: 70.51% (55/78)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 280
Guru: 370
Master: 348
Enlightened: 899
Burned: 5623

8 Likes

Fri Mar 10 2023:
Time spent: 7m
Reviews completed: 50
Reviews remaining: 585
Reviews in next week: 913 (+328)
Reviews in next month: 1314 (+401)
Accuracy: 86.00% (43/50)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 275
Guru: 372
Master: 347
Enlightened: 898
Burned: 5628

5 Likes

Well, I cheated again. This morning, 帳 came up for review, but I missed it due to confusing it with 帽. Since this would be a huge setback from leveling, I decided to cheat and immediately end the session without finishing off the current items so the miss wouldn’t count.

When you review items, they only register with Wanikani once you’ve answered both parts of the question (meaning + reading). Therefore, if you just miss one and then immediately exit out like I did, the failure never gets registered and it stays at the same SRS level so I won’t be delayed from leveling so much.

Sat Mar 11 2023:
Time spent: 6m
Reviews completed: 24
Reviews remaining: 608
Reviews in next week: 934 (+326)
Reviews in next month: 1315 (+381)
Accuracy: 66.67% (16/24)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 276
Guru: 370
Master: 347
Enlightened: 895
Burned: 5632

9 Likes

It’s ok, you cheated for better progress :slight_smile: . And thank you for the tip. :wink:

2 Likes

Cheating isn’t a problem if you are aware of it. The real problem is when people use it on a whim and isn’t really concious about it. If you cheat rarely you will probably remember them better, since those are “the ones that I cheated”. Paradoxically it probably works.

Good that you are aware of it though.

7 Likes

Cool trick, I wonder if there’s a script that lets you cheat without having to end your review session though.

2 Likes

In a bit of extreme luck, two different level up kanji (畜 and 彩) showed up in my first five reviews this morning. Two more to go.

Sun Mar 12 2023:
Time spent: 20m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 590
Reviews in next week: 922 (+332)
Reviews in next month: 1305 (+383)
Accuracy: 73.00% (73/100)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 281
Guru: 372
Master: 336
Enlightened: 896
Burned: 5643

8 Likes

What I did for situations like this, is open up the dev console with Ctrl+Shift+I, and there under the “Application” or “Storage” tab, depending on chrome or firefox, you can delete the jStorage entry under sessionStorage > the wanikani site. This still isn’t double check, meaning you lose all partial progress, but that’s a sacrifice you need to think about.

3 Likes

Mon Mar 13 2023:
Time spent: 6m
Reviews completed: 36
Reviews remaining: 603
Reviews in next week: 926 (+323)
Reviews in next month: 1304 (+378)
Accuracy: 69.44% (25/36)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 281
Guru: 372
Master: 333
Enlightened: 898
Burned: 5644

6 Likes

Tue Mar 14 2023:
Time spent: 12m
Reviews completed: 72
Reviews remaining: 609
Reviews in next week: 903 (+294)
Reviews in next month: 1295 (+392)
Accuracy: 77.78% (56/72)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 279
Guru: 365
Master: 337
Enlightened: 894
Burned: 5653

8 Likes

Just one kanji left to level up!

Wed Mar 15 2023:
Time spent: 7m
Reviews completed: 36
Reviews remaining: 642
Reviews in next week: 932 (+290)
Reviews in next month: 1304 (+372)
Accuracy: 72.22% (26/36)
Level: 48

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 282
Guru: 364
Master: 337
Enlightened: 892
Burned: 5656

6 Likes

I’m curious, what would you consider as “done”? Having 0 reviews remaining? Or something to do with reviews in the next week/month? Or straight up level 60?

2 Likes

Well, I’m planning to keep studying Japanese until the end of the year, so I guess I’ll keep doing WK until then. Not sure if I’ll continue after that. My guess is that I’ll hit 0 long before then (even though new reviews will continue to come in after I hit 0). I’ll probably reach level 60 again before the end of the year as well.

4 Likes