Scaling the 6583 review wall - Once more unto the breach!

Thanks for the encouragement! Itโ€™s really cool to see that people are following this log. Incidentally, it looks like you won the 100th post of the thread.

1 Like

Fri Jul 16 2021:
Time spent: 24m
Reviews completed: 58
Reviews remaining: 5182
Accuracy: 72.41% (42/58)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 85.71% (24/28)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 60.00% (18/30)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3025
Guru: 893
Master: 394
Enlightened: 1807
Burned 888

1 Like

I was hoping to repeat the heroic review of last weekend, but alas it was not to be. For most of my review sessions, I got frustrated and gave up after only five minutes, and I couldnโ€™t really get into the mood for studying Japanese in the first place. Still, I made decent progress nevertheless.

Sat Jul 17 2021:
Time spent: 46m
Reviews completed: 142
Reviews remaining: 5134
Accuracy: 66.90% (95/142)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 81.69% (58/71)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 52.11% (37/71)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3033
Guru: 900
Master: 393
Enlightened: 1775
Burned 906

1 Like

I got a surprising amount of reviews done this morning, though the afternoon sessions didnโ€™t go well, much like yesterday.

Sun Jul 18 2021:
Time spent: 63m
Reviews completed: 200
Reviews remaining: 5089
Accuracy: 68.00% (136/200)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 84.16% (85/101)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 51.52% (51/99)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3040
Guru: 911
Master: 389
Enlightened: 1741
Burned 926

1 Like

Mon Jul 19 2021:
Time spent: 14m
Reviews completed: 44
Reviews remaining: 5164
Accuracy: 59.09% (26/44)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 73.91% (17/23)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 42.86% (9/21)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3041
Guru: 917
Master: 390
Enlightened: 1727
Burned 932

1 Like

Tue Jul 20 2021:
Time spent: 30m
Reviews completed: 95
Reviews remaining: 5148
Accuracy: 71.58% (68/95)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 87.50% (42/48)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 55.32% (26/47)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3036
Guru: 937
Master: 390
Enlightened: 1699
Burned 945

2 Likes

My god. This is legendary.

Keep going! Youโ€™ll get there as long as you donโ€™t give up now!

5 Likes

Wed Jul 21 2021:
Time spent: 29m
Reviews completed: 89
Reviews remaining: 5135
Accuracy: 66.29% (59/89)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 83.72% (36/43)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 50.00% (23/46)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3037
Guru: 947
Master: 390
Enlightened: 1679
Burned 954

2 Likes

Thu Jul 22 2021:
Time spent: 31m
Reviews completed: 94
Reviews remaining: 5137
Accuracy: 64.89% (61/94)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 77.55% (38/49)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 51.11% (23/45)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3042
Guru: 950
Master: 390
Enlightened: 1660
Burned 965

3 Likes

I just had a really epic review session.

When doing reviews, Iโ€™ll often miss so many that get frustrated and ready to give up after only a few minutes and even 15 minutes is an unusually long review session for me. But this morning, I got lucky and did well enough that I didnโ€™t get frustrated for a very long time. I just kept going and going for 33 minutes!

Thatโ€™s more time than Iโ€™ve spent most days lately across three different review sessions! In fact, I think thatโ€™s by far the longest review session Iโ€™ve had since starting this entire challenge.

I also managed to burn a much larger number of items than usual, though some were just lucky guesses.

5 Likes

Thatโ€™s so exciting! Hope it helps you keep the momentum going with this giant stack of reviews

1 Like

Fri Jul 23 2021:
Time spent: 39m
Reviews completed: 134
Reviews remaining: 5112
Accuracy: 75.37% (101/134)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 81.82% (63/77)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 66.67% (38/57)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3041
Guru: 958
Master: 392
Enlightened: 1628
Burned 988

1 Like

Here are some stats for the last month. Iโ€™m amazed by how smoothly my accuracy decreases with level. I would have expected some disruptions to the pattern just by random variation or the like.

Overall accuracy: 66.576% (2209/3318)

Proportion of reviews by level:
1-5: 11.2%
6-10: 13.2%
11-15: 12.7%
16-20: 12.1%
21-25: 11.2%
26-30: 11.3%
31-35: 9.6%
36-40: 9.9%
41-45: 8.0%
46-50: 0.8%
51-55: 0.0%
56-60: 0.0%

Accuracy by level:
1-5: 84.3% (312/370)
6-10: 81.3% (357/439)
11-15: 75.4% (319/423)
16-20: 73.2% (295/403)
21-25: 67.0% (248/370)
26-30: 58.6% (219/374)
31-35: 56.4% (180/319)
36-40: 48.9% (160/327)
41-45: 41.0% (109/266)
46-50: 37.0% (10/27)

In case youโ€™re curious, here are the corresponding stats for last year, when I was going through Wanikani for the first time. They look quite different!

I guess that also explains why I was originally so optimistic about this challenge. Iโ€™d be making quite a bit more progress with an 82% accuracy rate even at the high levels. Instead, I had to reset to level 46 and am still not getting anywhere close to that.

Overall accuracy: 82.645% (88360/106915)

Proportion of reviews by level:
1-5: 8.2%
6-10: 10.9%
11-15: 10.6%
16-20: 10.1%
21-25: 9.9%
26-30: 8.9%
31-35: 8.3%
36-40: 8.3%
41-45: 7.4%
46-50: 6.9%
51-55: 6.0%
56-60: 4.6%

Accuracy by level:
1-5: 84.7% (7408/8749)
6-10: 83.3% (9718/11662)
11-15: 83.0% (9396/11315)
16-20: 82.7% (8898/10764)
21-25: 80.7% (8531/10577)
26-30: 82.4% (7848/9526)
31-35: 83.5% (7372/8827)
36-40: 82.1% (7323/8918)
41-45: 83.2% (6617/7953)
46-50: 82.2% (6059/7369)
51-55: 80.9% (5149/6368)
56-60: 82.7% (4041/4887)
2 Likes

In the latest example of โ€œlol SRS intervalsโ€, I just had a review session where ๅŠ่ฃธ came up, and I of course had no idea what it was and missed it. Then just a minute or two later, ๅ…จ่ฃธ came up, and since I knew what ่ฃธ meant from before, I successfully burned it, even though thereโ€™s no way I would have ever gotten it normally. Itโ€™s stuff like this that makes me not take the constant flood of โ€œyouโ€™re ruining your SRS intervalsโ€ complaints seriously.

Incidentally, apparently ๅŠ่ฃธ and ๅ…จ่ฃธ are so obscure that even Googleโ€™s IME doesnโ€™t know about them. I had to manually copy paste them from Wanikani. Wow.

There were also a lot of deja vue instances this session, where a word like ไป or ่ฆชๅ‹ would come up and Iโ€™m like โ€œall right, Iโ€™ve got this because I remember missing it before and I remember the answer this timeโ€, only to see that green โ€œburnedโ€ message pop up which means that it never came up for review before.

Iโ€™m not sure exactly what causes this. In some cases, it may be because I missed a closely related review item (e.g. kanji vs vocab) then looked at its WK page and saw the other item there, but it doesnโ€™t feel like that is what happened in those cases here. Oh well, a mystery for the ages.

This review session also brought me up to exactly 999 burned items, though I admittedly started at 351 due to not resurrecting burned radicals.

4 Likes

Sat Jul 24 2021:
Time spent: 38m
Reviews completed: 127
Reviews remaining: 5123
Accuracy: 69.29% (88/127)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 80.00% (52/65)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 58.06% (36/62)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3043
Guru: 966
Master: 392
Enlightened: 1600
Burned 1006

2 Likes

Sun Jul 25 2021:
Time spent: 19m
Reviews completed: 82
Reviews remaining: 5165
Accuracy: 60.98% (50/82)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 81.25% (26/32)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 48.00% (24/50)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3050
Guru: 964
Master: 395
Enlightened: 1584
Burned 1014

2 Likes

Sorry for the delay! Added now :smiley:

2 Likes

I wrote a script to find my leeches, which I decided to define as items that I missed at least twice in the last 62 days, and which I missed on the most recent review.

Out of curiosity, I also calculated the โ€œantileechโ€ count, those that I got right at least twice in the last 62 days and whose most recent review was correct. There are a lot more of these, although thatโ€™s not exactly surprising given the large number of easy resurrected items floating around.

Showing leeches for reviews since Tue May 25 2021:
Leech count: 163
Antileech count: 531

Detailed counts: (correct/incorrect, + if last review was correct or - if last incorrect)
0/1-: 1232
0/2-: 142
0/3-: 13
1/0+: 1718
1/1+: 259
1/1-: 35
1/2+: 24
1/2-: 6
1/3-: 1
2/0+: 350
2/1+: 42
2/1-: 12
2/2+: 10
2/2-: 1
3/0+: 91
3/1+: 13
3/1-: 1
3/2+: 2
4/0+: 18
4/1+: 3
5/0+: 2
vocab	็—›ใฟๆญขใ‚ Painkiller ใ„ใŸใฟใฉใ‚
vocab	ๆธฆๅทปใ Whirlpool ใ†ใšใพใ
vocab	็ธ›ใ‚Š้ฆ– Hanging ใ—ใฐใ‚Šใใณ
vocab	้ ญ็—› Headache ใšใคใ†
kanji	ๆ†ฉ Rest ใ‘ใ„
vocab	ๅบงใ‚‹ To Sit ใ™ใ‚ใ‚‹
vocab	ใ‚„ใ‚Š็”ฒๆ– Worth Doing ใ‚„ใ‚ŠใŒใ„
vocab	็ฒ˜็€ Cohesion ใญใ‚“ใกใ‚ƒใ
vocab	ๅ†…็ท’ Secret ใชใ„ใ—ใ‚‡
vocab	็”ฒๆ– Effect ใ‹ใ„
vocab	็œŸๅ‰ฃ Serious ใ—ใ‚“ใ‘ใ‚“
vocab	้Žฎใพใ‚‹ To Quiet Down ใ—ใšใพใ‚‹
vocab	ๅค‰้ท Change ใธใ‚“ใ›ใ‚“
vocab	ไฝ•้ How Many Times ใชใ‚“ในใ‚“
vocab	ๅ‡ๆ•ด Symmetry ใใ‚“ใ›ใ„
kanji	่จˆ Measure ใ‘ใ„
kanji	ๅฒ History ใ—
vocab	ๅฅฅๅบ• Depths ใŠใใใ“
vocab	็žฌใ A Blink ใพใฐใŸใ
vocab	้ฟๅฆŠ Birth Control ใฒใซใ‚“
vocab	ๆบใ‚ใ‚‹ To Engage In ใŸใšใ•ใ‚ใ‚‹
vocab	ๅ…ˆๆ—ฅ The Other Day ใ›ใ‚“ใ˜ใค
vocab	ๆฟ A Board ใ„ใŸ
vocab	ๅญฆๅ• Schooling ใŒใใ‚‚ใ‚“
kanji	็ฌฆ Token ใต
vocab	่ฃ•็ฆ Wealth ใ‚†ใ†ใตใ
vocab	ๅ›ฝ็ฑ Citizenship ใ“ใใ›ใ
kanji	่จ‚ Revise ใฆใ„
vocab	่ณ„ใ† To Pay ใพใ‹ใชใ†
vocab	็งปใ‚‹ To Be Shifted ใ†ใคใ‚‹
vocab	ๅฐฟ Urine ใซใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	้ ผใ‚‹ To Rely On ใŸใ‚ˆใ‚‹
vocab	็ธซ็›ฎ Seam ใฌใ„ใ‚
kanji	่œœ Honey ใฟใค
vocab	้›Œ่Šฑ Female Flower ใ‚ใฐใช
vocab	ๅŒ‚ใ„ Scent ใซใŠใ„
vocab	ๅผฑ่™ซ Weakling ใ‚ˆใ‚ใ‚€ใ—
vocab	ๅ›ณ Diagram ใš
kanji	ๅŒฟ Hide ใจใ
vocab	ใ€œๅนดๆฅ For Some Years ใญใ‚“ใ‚‰ใ„
vocab	ไบบๆฎบใ— Murder ใฒใจใ”ใ‚ใ—
kanji	่ก“ Art ใ˜ใ‚…ใค
vocab	็Ÿณๆฒน Oil ใ›ใใ‚†
vocab	ๆ‹ณ Fist ใ“ใถใ—
vocab	ๅ›ฝ้š› International ใ“ใใ•ใ„
kanji	ๅ‡„ Amazing ใ›ใ„
kanji	ไป‹ Jammed In ใ‹ใ„
vocab	ๆšใŒใ‚‹ To Be Fried Up ใ‚ใŒใ‚‹
vocab	ๅ–ใ‚Šๆ›ฟใˆใ‚‹ To Exchange ใจใ‚Šใ‹ใˆใ‚‹
vocab	็คบๅ”† Suggestion ใ—ใ•
vocab	ๆ•ฃใ‚‰ใ— Leaflet ใกใ‚‰ใ—
vocab	ๅฐ็ญ’ Envelope ใตใ†ใจใ†
vocab	็ถšใ€… One After Another ใžใใžใ
vocab	ๅดใฃใฆ On The Contrary ใ‹ใˆใฃใฆ
vocab	็–‘ๅ• Doubt ใŽใ‚‚ใ‚“
vocab	ๆ€ ใ‚‹ To Be Negligent ใŠใ“ใŸใ‚‹
vocab	ๅฑ‹ๆ•ท Residence ใ‚„ใ—ใ
kanji	้ฃฒ Drink ใ„ใ‚“
vocab	ๅไบบ Expert ใ‚ใ„ใ˜ใ‚“
vocab	ๆ€’ๆฐ— Anger ใฉใ
vocab	ๅงฟ Figure ใ™ใŒใŸ
vocab	็…งใ‚‰ใ™ To Illuminate ใฆใ‚‰ใ™
vocab	ๆฒผๅœฐ Marshland ใฌใพใก
kanji	ๅ‡Œ Endure ใ‚Šใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	่ถŠใ™ To Go Beyond ใ“ใ™
vocab	่‹ฅ่€… Young Person ใ‚ใ‹ใ‚‚ใฎ
vocab	ๅ ฑใ˜ใ‚‹ To Report On ใปใ†ใ˜ใ‚‹
vocab	้ŽๅŽป Past ใ‹ใ“
vocab	่ค’ใ‚ใ‚‹ To Praise ใปใ‚ใ‚‹
vocab	่ฉฐใพใ‚‹ To Be Stuffed ใคใพใ‚‹
vocab	ๅณ่ˆˆ Improvisation ใใฃใใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	็Š ้ฃ› Sacrifice Fly ใŽใฒ
vocab	ๆฒป็™‚ Medical Therapy ใกใ‚Šใ‚‡ใ†
kanji	็ด Supply ใฎใ†
vocab	ไปฃใ‚ใ‚Š Substitute ใ‹ใ‚ใ‚Š
vocab	่บ้€ฒ Rush ใ‚„ใใ—ใ‚“
vocab	ๆ›ฟใˆใ‚‹ To Replace ใ‹ใˆใ‚‹
vocab	็„กไผ‘ No Holidays ใ‚€ใใ‚…ใ†
vocab	ๆ…‹ใจ On Purpose ใ‚ใ–ใจ
vocab	็ด›็ณพ Complication ใตใ‚“ใใ‚…ใ†
vocab	ๅฏ„ใ›ใ‚‹ To Move Something Close To ใ‚ˆใ›ใ‚‹
vocab	็ฅ–็ˆถ Grandfather ใใต
vocab	ๆˆ‘ I ใ‚ใ‚Œ
vocab	็ฎก Pipe ใใ 
vocab	ใ€œ็ณป Tribe ใ‘ใ„
vocab	ๆ„ๆฌฒ Will ใ„ใ‚ˆใ
vocab	ไปฎ็งฐ Working Name ใ‹ใ—ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	ๅฎ—ๆดพ Sect ใ—ใ‚…ใ†ใฏ
vocab	็›—่ด Wiretapping ใจใ†ใกใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	่‰ฏๅฅฝ Good ใ‚Šใ‚‡ใ†ใ“ใ†
vocab	ๆฌกๅ›ž Next Time ใ˜ใ‹ใ„
vocab	ๅ››ๅŒน Four Small Animals ใ‚ˆใ‚“ใฒใ
kanji	้›ป Electricity ใงใ‚“
vocab	ไฟฎ็† Repair ใ—ใ‚…ใ†ใ‚Š
vocab	่ฃๅˆ‡ใ‚Š่€… Traitor ใ†ใ‚‰ใŽใ‚Šใ‚‚ใฎ
vocab	ไธ่ฉณ Unknown ใตใ—ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	ๆžœใฆใ‚‹ To End ใฏใฆใ‚‹
vocab	ๆˆธๅฃ Doorway ใจใใก
vocab	่ญฒใ‚‹ To Concede ใ‚†ใšใ‚‹
vocab	ไปŠๆ›ด Too Late ใ„ใพใ•ใ‚‰
vocab	ๅฅณ็ฅž Goddess ใ‚ใŒใฟ
kanji	ๅฐŽ Lead ใฉใ†
vocab	็ธ่ซ‡ Marriage Proposal ใˆใ‚“ใ ใ‚“
kanji	ๆ—ง Former ใใ‚…ใ†
vocab	็‰‡ใ€œ Fragment ใ‹ใŸ
vocab	ๅคงๆ–‡ๅญ— Uppercase Letters ใŠใŠใ‚‚ใ˜
vocab	ๆฟ€ๅŠฑ Encouragement ใ’ใใ‚Œใ„
vocab	้€šใ™ To Let Something Pass ใจใŠใ™
vocab	ๆป…ไบก Downfall ใ‚ใคใผใ†
vocab	้–“ๆŠœใ‘ Idiot ใพใฌใ‘
vocab	ๅŠใณ As Well As ใŠใ‚ˆใณ
vocab	่จ˜่ผ‰ Record ใใ•ใ„
kanji	่ฒง Poor ใณใ‚“
kanji	ๆถ™ Teardrop ใ‚‹ใ„
vocab	ๆ—งๅง“ Maiden Name ใใ‚…ใ†ใ›ใ„
vocab	่‡จๆ™‚ Temporary ใ‚Šใ‚“ใ˜
vocab	้€ฒใ‚ใ‚‹ To Advance Something ใ™ใ™ใ‚ใ‚‹
kanji	่’ธ Steam ใ˜ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	่ฅฒใ† To Attack ใŠใใ†
kanji	้ป™ Shut Up ใ‚‚ใ
kanji	ไปฅ From ใ„
kanji	ๅฒณ Peak ใŒใ
vocab	ๅ–ใ‚Šๆฑบใ‚ Arrangement ใจใ‚Šใใ‚
vocab	็ˆ†็ฌ‘ Explosive Laughter ใฐใใ—ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	่จด่จŸ Lawsuit ใใ—ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	่ฆชๅฑ• Confidential ใ—ใ‚“ใฆใ‚“
vocab	็นๆ „ Prospering ใฏใ‚“ใˆใ„
vocab	้™ฝๆฐ— Cheerful ใ‚ˆใ†ใ
vocab	่ฆ‹ๆธกใ™ To Look Out Over ใฟใ‚ใŸใ™
vocab	ๅฏธๆš‡ Moment's Leisure ใ™ใ‚“ใ‹
vocab	่จ“ๆˆ’ Warning ใใ‚“ใ‹ใ„
vocab	ๆ‹…ใ† To Take Responsibility ใซใชใ†
kanji	ๅฐ Seal ใ„ใ‚“
vocab	ๆ‰‹ใฎ็”ฒ Back Of One's Hand ใฆใฎใ“ใ†
vocab	็†Š Bear ใใพ
vocab	ๅ–ใ‚Š้€ƒใŒใ™ To Fail To Catch ใจใ‚ŠใซใŒใ™
vocab	ๅคฑๆœ› Disappointment ใ—ใคใผใ†
kanji	ๆ˜ญ Shining ใ—ใ‚‡ใ†
vocab	ๅฏพใ™ใ‚‹ To Compare With ใŸใ„ใ™ใ‚‹
vocab	่ฒ Shell ใ‹ใ„
vocab	ไฟๅญ˜ Preserve ใปใžใ‚“
kanji	ๆฑ  Pond ใก
vocab	ๅ‚พๅ‘ Tendency ใ‘ใ„ใ“ใ†
vocab	ไธญๆžข Center ใกใ‚…ใ†ใ™ใ†
vocab	ใ€œไบบ Number Of People ใซใ‚“
vocab	่จ€่‘‰้ฃใ„ Choice Of Words ใ“ใจใฐใฅใ‹ใ„
vocab	ๅบƒๅ‘Š Advertisement ใ“ใ†ใ“ใ
vocab	ๅ›ฝๆ—— National Flag ใ“ใฃใ
vocab	็”ณใ™ To Say Humbly ใ‚‚ใ†ใ™
vocab	้ป’ๅน• Wirepuller ใใ‚ใพใ
vocab	ๅ–ถใ‚€ To Run A Business ใ„ใจใชใ‚€
vocab	้ฃใ† To Consider ใคใ‹ใ†
vocab	ๅ…จใ Completely ใพใฃใŸใ
vocab	ๆ‡‡ๆ„ Intimacy ใ“ใ‚“ใ„
vocab	ๅพ—ๆ„ Good At ใจใใ„
vocab	่ฉฆๅˆ Game ใ—ใ‚ใ„
vocab	ๅคง่‡ฃ Minister ใ ใ„ใ˜ใ‚“
vocab	้˜ฒใ To Defend ใตใ›ใ
vocab	ๅนใ่พผใ‚€ To Blow In ใตใใ“ใ‚€
vocab	ๆธˆใพใ™ To Finish Something ใ™ใพใ™
vocab	็คบใ™ To Indicate ใ—ใ‚ใ™
vocab	็ฉใ‚‚ใ‚‹ To Accumulate ใคใ‚‚ใ‚‹
vocab	ๅ‘ฝไปค Order ใ‚ใ„ใ‚Œใ„
1 Like

Mon Jul 26 2021:
Time spent: 31m
Reviews completed: 112
Reviews remaining: 5135
Accuracy: 76.79% (86/112)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 85.07% (57/67)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 64.44% (29/45)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 3055
Guru: 961
Master: 394
Enlightened: 1569
Burned 1028

2 Likes

Your accuracy seems to be improving, which is really cool. Good luck with the future sessions!

4 Likes