Radical error for 究 (Research)?

I’m currently struggling my way through Level 8, and I noticed what seems like an error to me.

Compare the radical decomposition for Sky to that of Research.

They both clearly have the same radical component on top, but the page for “Sky” identifies it as “Roof” + “Legs”, while the page for “Research” goes with “Hole”.

I’m only a lvl-8 newbie, but the “Hole” radical on “Research” seems wrong to me, as the radical–upon close inspection–is clearly NOT “Hole”.

Not a big deal, but it threw me off while I was trying to puzzle stuff out. If I’m off-base, please set me straight, and if it’s a mistake, please let me know which channels I need to go through to request a fix.

Thanks much!

3 Likes

I definitely see the resemblance between the “Hole” in the Research kanji and “Roof + Legs”, but I think this is just a case of a radical changing shape slightly when it’s in a certain position in a kanji (a lot of radicals do this.) The Hole radical just so happens to look an awful lot like the Roof + Legs combination when it’s the top radical of a kanji, such as in the Research kanji.

https://kanjialive.com/214-traditional-kanji-radicals/#⽳

I think the shapeshifting radicals phenomenon is something that WK doesn’t explain super well when it pops up.

Btw, you might have even noticed it already, but the chinese character is much closer to “hole + something” than “roof + legs”, radicals do change shape a lot, the only reason wk isn’t using the hole radical for sky, is that you learn “hole” on level 8

It’s hole, etymologically speaking anyway. It represented the concept of cave-dwelling.

The fact that it gets written with a “hane” (the little upturned part on the right side) in Japanese is confusing for sure.

4 Likes

For both and , simplified Chinese version use 穴 at the top; and the etymology is the same for both languages.

Anyway, radicals can morph, and Japanese people have their sense of aesthetics.

1 Like