Question about 九つ and一つ

Hi!
I am new to studying on wanikani/Japanese in general and this is probably the first snag I’ve come across. So I’ve been reviewing early Kanji, and 九つ and 一つ are tripping me up. The breakdown and rules for these kanji state that “This word follows the “number of things” pattern where there’s a kanji for a number plus つ on the end. Whenever you see this, you know the word means “____ things.” Knowing that, as long as you know the kanji (which you do) you can figure out what number of things it is. For this one, it’s the kanji for one plus つ. So, this one is one thing.”
So I would assume that since 一 translates into いち, it would logically follow that it would read as いちつ but it is actually read as ひとつ, why is this? Is there something I’m missing that is making the pronunciation of this vocab into ひとつ and not いちつ? Same goes for 九つ

Thanks !!

3 Likes

Because there are differences between native Japanese numbers and Chinese borrowed numbers, and some counters tend to follow the Japanese ones.

大和言葉の数え方 for more info, but overall the native Japanese way of counting is:
ひい, ふう, み, よ, いつ, むう, なな, や, ここ, とお etc.

The Chinese-borrowed way of counting is:
いち, に, さん, し, ご, ろく, しち, はち, きゅう, じゅう etc.

Now when to use which for which counter? You’ll just have to learn until a pattern is found.

6 Likes

Basically the kanji for the numbers have two different readings (just like almost all other kanji), they are called “Chinese” or on’yomi and “Japanese” or kun’yomi reading. Which reading gets used depends on the counter that follows the number (in this case the つ which is the general counter for things of all sorts). This counter requires the kun’yomi readings of numbers, i.e. ひとつ、ふたつ、みっつ and so on. Most counters ask for the on’yomi reading, though, and some even mix this a little bit, e.g. the counter 人 for people: It is ひとり and ふたり for one and two people (kun’yomi) and then switches to さんにん、よにん and so on for 3, 4, … people.