Practicing writing kanji for the first time

This is my first time practicing writing kanji. It’s not that important to me, so I’ll only spend a few minutes each day doing it. It’s just something to do at the end of the day when I’m bored of WK, Anki, Genki, Bunpro, watching YouTube videos, and listening to podcasts. It’s pretty obvious that I struggle with curvy lines! Those 8s had me feeling like:

giphy-1

6 Likes

Nice!

Writing comes with practice for sure. Though I would say its absolutely worth grabbing a Genkouyoushi notebook. If you’re in Japan you can find them in bulk at the 百円屋/Daiso. If you’re outside of Japan you’ll be able to find them on Amazon for a little more or find blanks on Google to print out.

The paper helps a lot with Kanji because most kanji are split in half so have the four sections really helps your writing become more consistent:

2022-07-04 21_30_50-genkouyoushi paper - Google Search

Goodluck!

5 Likes

The thing about writing Kanji (as well as Hiragana, Katakana, other Chinese characters, and probably Hangul), is that they should writing in a square (block style).

For that paper you have already tried, how about constraining to 4 squares? Don’t worry about making them too big (they won’t).

There is also another thing about character components’ division, like how much space for anterior components – I’ll leave that to your researching, if you are interested.

2 Likes

Might I recommend to you this website :slight_smile:

Loads of free printables to help with writing kanji.

5 Likes

Couple of suggestions:

1: make sure the sample you’re trying to match in your writing is a ‘how to hand write this character with a pen’ example, not a printed font character or a ‘how to write with a brush’ example. Often little flicks at the end of strokes are either for when writing with a brush or else print fonts retaining some of the aesthetic markers of brush characters. I’m not sure anybody really writes 八 that way…