Pitch accent of Kenichi

Hello everyone!

While progressing through wanikani I’ve noticed that in some cases the pitch accent of words differs between Kenichi and Kyoko (the male and female speakers). Interestingly enough, Kyoko’s pitch accent will most often of the time be the one most dictionaries show (so standard Tokyo dialect, I assume). Is there a reason for this? Is Kenichi speaking with some dialect, or are these just words that have multiple pronunciations?

I don’t have many examples on hand, because I’ve never written these down, but there are quite a few per level. One example would be the vocabulary 科目. Dictionary apps show this is Heiban (low to high), but Kenichi seems to pronounce it Atamadaka (high to low).

Anyway, just something I’ve been curious about, since I try to imitate the speakers while learning new words to immediately try to avoid bad habits. I’m still a beginner.

8 Likes

I’ve had the same question, honestly. But language isn’t a perfect science and not everyone is going to pronounce something exactly how it appears all the time. Sometimes there’s just a variation between speakers and getting used to that is an important part of learning any language.

You may be interested in the pitch accent script to compare it to the audio.

4 Likes

Good question! I’d love to see a breakdown of that.

The other thing I noticed is that he pronounces シ differently from Kyoko and I was wondering if that’s for the same reason he does the nasalized ガ or it’s a difference between how men and women pronounce it.

3 Likes

Forvo is a decent place to get more pronunciations if you’re ever unsure about Kyoko or Kenichi.

The two examples here match Kyoko’s pronunciation more than Kenichi’s.

4 Likes

Nice I didnt know such awesome scripts are existing thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

Another one: 他所
Kyoko goes high to low, and Kenichi does the opposite. :woman_shrugging:t4:

Men and women tend to have different accents in Japanese.