Does anyone here study the pitch accent as well?

I try to study the pitch accent for each word I learn but I was wondering if anyone else does it as well. I use aedict which shows me the Tokyo pitch accent.

I started studying pitch accent last November, I became a patreon for Dogen and I was learning the basics, but then I got really busy and in January I payed for the WK lifetime subscription, so Iā€™ve cancelled my patreon subscription. I want to focus on kanji right now and save some money, then I would like to focus on pitch accent and kanji for a while before I go back to learn grammar and everything else.

In the meantime I still have this on my wall:

(Some of the post-its fell :frowning_face:)

What are you doing to study? Are you taking a course or watching videos? Or just using the dictionary?

So basically what I do is I have this app on my phone that tells me the pitch accent for literally every word so I look each word up during the original lesson and look at pitch accent. I play the Wanikani audio for the vocabulary and then try to repeat it with the correct pitch which usually works since I have been doing this for months. I can help you out with that if you want.

I do as well. There is actually a script here that provides the pitch accent, too. Itā€™s just called WaniKani Pitch Info. Not sure if thereā€™s a forum thread for it. Maybe one of the more forum-savvy members can provide a link. :upside_down_face:

Is it this? Link.

Yup, thatā€™s it!

So what do you generally do when you see the pitch accent, do you try to say the word/verb with the pitch accent as well? As I find doing that the first time I see it really helps cement the word in my mind aside from teaching me the pitch and making me have a good accent.

Ah, yes I have that script too! But Iā€™ve noticed that sometimes the audio uses a different pattern than the one that is displayed by the script; Iā€™m not sure if thereā€™s some info missing or there are some mistakes.