Noun/Adjective, Verb and more Endings

I’m a noob at the grammar, have I got this right?

Noun/Adjective
Positive:
is = です
was = でした

Negative:
isn’t = じゃないです
wasn’t = じゃないかった

Verb
Positive:
is done = ます
was done = ました

Negative:
isn’t done = ません
wasn’t done = ませんでした

Beings
Objects:
there is = あります
there is not = ありません
it is = です
it is not = ではありません

Living beings:
they are = います
they are not = いません

I think じゃありません is more common, but じゃないです is not incorrect.

No い here. Also to fit with the others in terms of politeness it should be either じゃありませんでした or じゃなかったです.

This one doesn’t fit with the others in terms of politeness (it’s more polite). You would normally use じゃありません here.

Also overall I would recommend learning plain forms first (だ, だった, じゃない etc.)
because it’s easier to go from the dictionary forms to ます than the other way around.

3 Likes

Thank you for your response!
I have no idea about the politeness level on these. I started out on duolingo so I guess that’s why I’m so confused.
But I have a hard time reading large blocks of texts at a time, so I end up avoiding wikis. :s

I’ve heard mixed opinions about duolingo, people say that LingoDeer is better but I haven’t used either so you’d have to ask around. Then there’s also BunPro for grammar only, but that seems to be more of a complementary resource than a main source of grammar. I haven’t used this one either.

If you prefer videos to walls of text then CureDolly is highly recommended, but you would have to get used to the unique style of her videos. I’ve watched one or two of her videos and they seem fine.

You can see other recommendations in this thread. Try them out and see which ones work best.

1 Like