Noun, adjective and verb clauses / の particle

Now I asked about the definition on clauses a week ago but am still kind of hazy regarding the topic. Some context first. I’m still studying the の particle, and it states in my guide:

“However, the 「の」 particle is very useful in that you don’t have to specify a particular noun. In the next examples, the 「の」 particle is not replacing any particular noun, it just allows us to modify verb and adjective clauses like noun clauses. The relative clauses are highlighted…”

Is relative clause an umbrella term for noun, verb and adjective clauses? And so in this respect are verb clauses are the part of the sentence containing the verb? And noun clauses containing the noun etc. Lastly, (likely a dumb question) what is the difference between an adjective and adjective clause? Are they not both giving more information about a noun

Also as kind of a side question, can anyone explain the reason why そ/こ/あ /ど +の must be used when we want to say “this/that noun”

1 Like

A relative clause is one which modifies the noun. So like in that sentence, it’s “which modifies the noun”. “Which modifies the noun” is the relative clause. (Edited for clarity, I was still thinking in Japanese mode.)

“A relative clause is one kind of dependent clause . It has a subject and verb, but can’t stand alone as a sentence. It is sometimes called an “adjective clause ” because it functions like an adjective—it gives more information about a noun.”

In Japanese it’d be something like “the book which my mom bought” or 母が買った本/ははがかったほん. So where does the の particle come into play? Well, we don’t always repeat the noun in English sentences when talking about the same subject, and the same is true for Japanese. So if someone says, “What book is that?” you might say, “The one my mom bought me.” In Japanese this would go something like this:
どれの/どの本ですか?
母が買ったのです。/ははがかったのです。