Never seen that one before

And you probably haven’t either

9 Likes

I saw that it existed in the API but didn’t look to see if it had been used at all :sweat_smile:. That’s pretty cool though.

1 Like

Woah, what happened here :joy: . I actually had to look up that kanji. TIL that it’s even a 常用. Never seen it before.

Yes, some kanji had it as a field in the UI for a while as well, but it was never used.

2 Likes

There has been the place for nanori readings for quite a while on WK, but it’s the first time I see it being the required reading :sweat_smile:

5 Likes

I’m a newbie to these community posting business and I’m totally lost about this post. You have three replies making comments that are FAR beyond my comprehension.

This kanji is in Level 36, it means ‘uncle’ and the nanori reading is お. So I don’t understand why you’re posting WaniKani’s message that it’s looking for the nanori reading. Unless you’re commenting that WaniKani is not aware of what it has in its own database???

Can you explain what is the purpose of your post to a clueless Japanese learner and even how the comments addresses your post?

1 Like

The kunyomi and onyomi readings are far more common.

1 Like

The nanori reading has existed beside the on’yomi and kun’yomi readings on every WaniKani page since before I joined in late 2019. Here’s the reading section of 岸, for example:

This kanji is pretty standard with an on’yomi reading presented that is used in lots of compounds like 沿岸. It’s also got a kun’yomi reading used in the word 岸 (きし). There is no nanori reading listed. This is how the overwhelming majority of kanji on the site are listed. Nanori readings are basically readings used exclusively in names.