Lv. 19 definition of 自動詞

Hey guys, I’m studying my lessons, and at level 19 the vocab. term 自動詞 appears, which makes sense as “intransitive verb” because is a verb (動詞) that stands for itself (自), without the need for an object. So far so good.
Yet, in the meaning part of the lesson it says “Intransitive verbs are actions that just happen, aka you’re not the one doing the action or thing”.
What? That’s not the definition of intransitive verb at all, at least not in the languages I know. Is the definition different in japanese? No way, right? Even the expample they give of an intransitive verb 消える doesn’t comply with that definition, I can very well disappear or vanish on my own.
Hope this helps anyone in the same conundrum, thanks!

WK isn’t here to teach grammar. I’m curious how transitive and intransitive verbs work in Japanese, but for now it’s enough to understand the term in English (and will eventually get there in Japanese when my grammar is stronger).

A transitive verb takes an object. Luke kicked the soccer ball.

An intransitive verb does not take an object. We danced

1 Like

I agree that WK isn’t here to teach universal grammar, but to put a blatantly wrong definition doesn’t help anyone. That is not the definition of an intransitive verb, and it will confuse anyone that knows it or misinform anyone that doesn’t.

6 Likes

Oh, yeah, I agree with you that the entry needs to be changed.

Anyway, my main question was if the term intransitive verb meant something different or if intransitive verbs worked in a different way in japanese, I guess the answer is no. Thanks for the help!

Practically speaking I don’t think that definition is too bad. I agree It’s not a very neat grammar explanation, but I think it does give a basic idea of how to distinguish the functions of 自動詞 and 他動詞 in Japanese.