Lots of small, seemingly simple fixes they could make WK less frustrating

I don’t know about all of you, but even though wanikani is a great tool there seem to be a lot of small things that build to frustration. For example, the error above. Why is びいだま not accepted as a correct reading when ー is just a vowel extender? Also, I realize this next issue can be solved by me deliberately slowly going through reviews. However, when I have 50+ reviews at once I tend to get in the flow and will oftentimes accidentally type the reading of vocab instead of the meaning and it gets marked as incorrect. If they can have the Kanji entries recognize the wrong reading (kun vs on) to prevent you from getting the answer wrong, couldn’t they change it to have it recognize people typing the reading by accident as well? I’m not a programmer, so if this is actually a bigger issue to solve beyond just the time it would take to enter common romaji readings for vocab, please let me know. What are everyone else’s thoughts?

6 Likes

I don’t know why not, but I would support this change. When I’m on my phone, it is a real pain to search for the hyphen on my keyboard.

11 Likes

Maybe they don’t want you typing びいだま because they don’t want you to get in the habit of typing it that way? My IME doesn’t let me change びいだま to ビー玉. As for the reading instead of meaning, I remember people talking about it previously and how it had some issues with certain words. If it’s really bad, you could try the ignore script and use it exclusively for mistakes like that (Although many people say it can easily get out of hand and ruin your learning experience).

13 Likes