Limiting burning items; timed burnt items

Hello,
I am quite new to Wanikani and very very slow. I am on level 4 after a few months, but I have no stress since I have lifetime subscription. Because of school, I cannot progress really quickly.

I was wondering if there was a way (either via WK directly or throw an addon) that would either disable burnt items or still schedule them after a certain period of time. I know that this goes against the principle of burning items, but, since I progress really slowly, I am afraid of forgetting items, especially old ones, as I don’t have a lot of daily exposure outside of WK (lack of time).
Is there a way that I could do something like that, let’s say that no item can be really burnt and, let’s say, will pop up back again in say 4 months when they are at the higher mastery levels.

Thanks!

3 Likes

Honestly, I wouldn’t worry about burning items at all.

Burning no longer necessarily means you won’t review it again: Wanikani recently added the ability to review burned items using the new “extra study” feature on your dashboard.

There’s nothing wrong with a slow pace (lessons), but for the SRS to schedule items appropriately based on what you find difficult, it is important to have a regular (daily) pace. It’s not the end of the world if you miss a day or two here and there, but you really must try to get through all or most of your outstanding reviews every day.

5 Likes

Thank you for telling me about this feature, I was not aware of it.
I do practice regularly, at least for my reviews, as they do not pile up. It’s more that I don’t do quickly my lessons. On a typical day, I have between 5 and 30 reviews, never really more.
I am more afraid of getting to level 10 in a year or so and having forgotten chunks of what I have already done.

2 Likes