Level 7 Absolutely Annihalated Me. Tips for Pacing?

Ouch. This is the first time I’ve gotten an F through the first series of reviews simply because of the sheer volume of new material. I had 91 items waiting in my queue after leveling up this morning and I’m assuming it is going to just get worse.

I’m going to be honest, my memory isn’t the best. I struggle with simple memory matching games that have more than 20 cards on the field. My brain got so scrambled that I couldn’t even stick the kanji meaning and reading in my head to answer it the next time it came up if I was mashing through the answers I’d already gotten wrong to get the items our of my review queue.

The only ways I’ve been able to struggle through Wani Kani so far has been:

A) It appeared in GENKI I or II which I studied in college
B) I’ve been able to make a solid mnemonic device for my stupid brain to trigger the memory

My question to y’all is, how do you pace yourselves when you see a giant list of new material at the initial level-up? Do you power through it all and hope for the best, only do half, or what? I know there’s no single answer for this, but getting some other methods might help me sort out my own mind. I genuinely gave myself a headache from the last review session debacle.

2 Likes

I only do 20 a day, using the reorder script to learn radicals and some kanji first.

I’m sure someone will post a link to @jprspereira’s guide, which gives a lot more details.

Edit: AND THAT SOMEONE IS ME.

9 Likes