Learning on and off now left unmotivated and stuck

I’m now level 12 and I’ve been learning on and off for a few months but for the past month I’ve only been doing about 10 to 20 reviews a day and I’ve currently got 470 lessons and 539 reviews pending and I just can’t tackle them.

I’m considering resetting my whole progress but I’m also worried that I may have forgotten some of my burned items? I’m just feeling lost and don’t know how to move forward.

I would appreciate any advice for how to tackle this and if I should start again or not.

1 Like

I was in a similar situation last month though I was around level 8. I hadn’t been on WaniKani for nearly a year and the reviews had piled up. I think I had around 450 waiting for me. That number really kills a lot of motivation. I ended up resetting back to level 5 just to cut some of the reviews. I figured that I probably wouldn’t remember the most recent levels anyway. I wouldn’t reset all the way to level 1 but going back a few levels probably wouldn’t hurt.

What I ended up doing is downloading the app and then whenever I got a bit bored and started scrolling social media I would stop and do 10 reviews. This quickly added up and I ended up doing over 50 reviews a day that way. My accuracy was pretty bad at the beginning but if I got the answer wrong I needed to review it anyway so I ignored it. Once I got closer to 0 reviews the more motivation I had to keep doing them. I ended up ignoring my lesson pile until I got all my reviews done and my apprentice deck at a reasonable level. Then I started doing maybe 5 new lessons each day until I felt I could handle more and ended up increasing that number to 15.

For burned items, I am pretty sure the extra study section of WaniKani lets you review your burned items. If you get them wrong then you can manually resurrect them. This isn’t a perfect solution and someone else might know a better way but it could help.